Old paulinas

    St Paul’s Girls' School has produced some of the world’s best scholars, scientists, artists and industry leaders. The school takes pride in its Old Paulina community, welcoming and embracing a group of alumnae wide and far reaching who contribute significantly on the national and global stage.

    The school aims to help Old Paulinas keep in touch with each other via regular communications and publications and with a unique, vibrant and varied events calendar.  Events include reunions, career networking events, cultural events, school concerts, and a variety of other social events.

    Art, music and film

    Gluck (Hannah Gluckstein) – Famous British painter best known for the 'Gluck Frame' and for painting stylised flowerpieces.

    Dame Celia Johnson – Actress. The school theatre is named in her honour.

    Gillian Ayres CBE – Painter.

    Imogen Stubbs – Actress and Playwright.

    Annabel Arden – Theatre Director and founding member of Theatre de Complicite.

    Natasha Richardson – Well-known actresses.

    Justine Frischmann – An abstract painter and musician best known for being the lead singer of the band Elastica.

    Rachel Weisz – Well-known actress.

    Blanche Mclntyre – Theatre Director. Recipient of numerous awards, including that of Best Director at the 2013 Theatre Awards.

    Writer, journalist

    Angela Thirkell – Prolific novelist from 1921 until the late 1950s.

    Dodie Smith – Novelist and playwright best known for writing 'The Hundred and One Dalmatians' and 'I Capture the Castle'.

    Monica Dickens – Novelist and great grand-daughter of Charles Dickens. A creative writing prize at St Paul's is named in her honour.

    Shirley Conran – Novelist and journalist perhaps best known for writing Superwoman.

    Nicola Beauman – Literary critic, biographer, and founder and director of Persephone Books.

    Alexandra Shulman – Editor-in-chief of the British edition of 'Vogue'.

    Nicola Shulman (Marchioness of Normanby) – Writer and literary critic.

    Bronwen Maddox – Chief Executive of 'Prospect' magazine and former Chief Foreign Commentator of 'The Times'.

    Sophie Raworth – BBC News journalist and broadcaster.

    Stephanie Flanders – BBC News journalist and broadcaster.

    Susanna Reid – Broadcaster and current presenter on BBC Breakfast.

    Thomasina Miers – Author and chef who won the BBC television show Master Chef. Owner of Wahaca.


    Mary Mackenzie – First Head Girl at St Paul's. First woman to be Royal Archivist at Windsor Castle.

    Joan Harbord – Post-Keynesian economist focused on monetary economics.

    Dame Kathleen Kenyon – One of the most famous archaeologists of Libya, Jericho and Jerusalem.

    Beatrice De Cardi – One of the leading archaeologists of the Middle East and former President of the Society of Antiquaries.

    Dr Barbara Reynolds – Noted Italian scholar: editor of the Cambridge Italian Dictionary, biographer of Dante. Also an expert on Dorothy Sayers. 

    Professor Dame Margaret Turner-Warwick – First female president of the Royal College of Physicians.

    Helen Wallis – Considered the nation's first Map Librarian for her work at the British Library. Perhaps the most published Paulina.

    Brigid Brophy – Novelist, freethinker and evangelical vegetarian

    Professor Dame Jessica Rawson – Historian of ancient China, and sometime Warden of Merton College, Oxford..

    Miranda Kaufmann – Historian and Journalist. Recent author of 'Black Tudors: The Untold Story'

    Politics, law, civil service, business

    Evelyn, Baroness Sharp – Civil servant and first woman to hold the position of a Permanent Secretary.

    Dame Alison Munro Nee Donald – Civil servant and High Mistress of St Paul's Girls' School from 1964 to 1974.

    Shirley, Baroness Williams – former Labour Education Secretary and co-founder of the Social Democratic Party

    Onora, Baroness O'Neill – Distinguished philosopher and cross bench member of the House of Lords. Currently Chair of the Equality and Human Rights Commission.

    Hon Dame Mary Koops Nee Hogg – High Court Judge


    Joan Beauchamp Procter – Zoologist and first female Curator of Reptiles at the London Zoo.

    Cecilia Payne-Gaposchkin – Famous astronomer and astrophysicist.

    Rosalind Franklin – Scientist who made major contributions to the discovery of DNA. She was portrayed by Nicole Kidman in the 2015 West End production of 'Photograph 51'.


    Kathleen ‘Kitty’ Godfree – British tennis and badminton player who won five Olympic golds and two Wimbledon Championships during her career.

    Zoe De Toledo – Coxswain and winner of a silver medal at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio with the coxed 8+. This marks the first Olympic medal won by a British women’s eight. She coxed the eight that won the gold medal at the 2016 European Rowing Championships and for the 2012 Oxford and Cambridge Boat Race.


    Rosalind Norman (Lady Burke) – Aviatrix and aircraft factory manager during World War II..

    Nell Gifford Nee Stroud – Founder and owner of Giffords Circus.